INNNI node meeting and INCF workshop

Workshop title: Neuroinformatics of sensory-motor integration: modeling and imaging from the worm to the human nervous system.


The workshop will be held at Chennai, India during November 5-7, 2012. It is organized by the Indian National Node of Neuroinformatics (INNNI) in association with the Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc) and the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Madras. The workshop will explore neuroinformatics approaches to questions of how sensory signals from the environment are integrated at different scales - from the level of a single neuron to the entire brain - eventually resulting in motor responses. It will address issues of collecting, integrating and modeling diverse types of neuroscience data - an important strategic step towards increased understanding of the brain in health and disease.

INNNI is the Indian National Node of the International Neuroinformatics Coordinating Facility (INCF). INCF was launched in 2005, with the mission to facilitate the work of neuroscientists around the world, and to catalyze and coordinate the global development of neuroinformatics. INCF brings together the world’s leading scientists to highlight and solve challenges in standardization and interoperability.  The INCF Community consists of its 16 member countries with associated research groups, consortia, funding agencies and publishers in the field.

The plan for the workshop is to have a series of invited talks on specific focus areas (including sensorimotor modeling and the neuroinformatics of C elegans) on the first two days, to be followed by a day of technical parallel sessions on multiple topics. The INCF workshop will be followed by a 1-day national node meeting of the INNNI.

Date:   INCF Workshop: 5-7 November
INNNI node meeting: 8 November morning.


Venue:   Ramanujan Auditorium, IMSc, Chennai (5th November and 6th November)
ICSR Auditorium, Hall III, IITM,  Chennai (7th November and 8th November)


  5th November 6th November 7th November 8th November
8:30-9:00 Inauguration      
9:00-9:45 Sten Grillner Cathy Rankin Kaushik Majumdar INNNI programme overview, Summer school and Workshop reports.
9:45-10:30 Dieter Jaeger Mei Zhen Joby Joesph Node member reports
10:30-11:15 Bapi Raju Sandhya Koushika G Rangarajan Proposals for future programmes:
  • Neuroinformatics summer school 2013
  • INCF Workshop 2013
  • Joint research programmes
11:15-11:45 Tea Tea Tea Tea
11:45-12:30 Krishanu Ray Rishikesh Narayanan Vatsala Thirumalai Concluding session
12:30-2:00 Lunch Lunch Lunch Lunch
2:00-2:45 Aditya Murthy Madhusudhan Venkadesan Pranay Goel  
2:45-3:30 Jeanette Kotaleski Mario de Bono Narayanan Srinivasan  
3:30-4:00 Tea Tea Tea  
3:30-4:45 Arvind Kumar Poster Session Raghavendra Singh  
4:45-5:30 Sanjay Sane Andres Villu Maricq Parallel Breakout session discussions  
5:30-6:15 Poster session Nivedita Chatterjee Panel discussion & Open Session  
6:15-7:00 Poster session INCNE meeting Prasun Roy  
7:00-8:30 Dinner Dinner Dinner  

Confirmed Speakers:

Sten Grillner (Nobel Institute for Neurophysiology, Stockholm)
Dieter Jaeger (Emory University, Atlanta)
Jeanette Kotaleski (KTH, Stockholm)
Arvind Kumar (University of Freiburg, Freiburg)
Mei Zhen (Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto)
Catharine H Rankin (University of British Columbia, Vancouver)
Mario de Bono (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge)
Andres Villu Maricq (University of Utah,  Salt Lake City)
Aditya Murthy (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
Bapi Raju (University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad)
Joby Joseph (University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad)
Kaushik Majumdar (Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore)
Krishanu Ray (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Madhusudhan Venkadesan (Natl Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore)
Narayanan Srinivasan (University of Allahabad, Allahabad)
Nivedita Chatterjee (Vision Research Foundation, Chennai)
Pranay Goel (Indian Inst of Science Education & Research, Pune)
Prasun Roy (Natl Brain Research Centre, Manesar)
Raghavendra Singh (IBM India Research Lab, New Delhi)
G Rangarajan (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
Rishikesh Narayanan (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
Sanjay P. Sane (Natl Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore)
Vatsala Thirumalai (Natl Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore)
Sandhya Koushika (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research)

Please click here to view talk titles and abstracts


Sitabhra Sinha, Institute of  Mathematical Sciences, Chennai and
Srinivasa Chakravarthy, IIT Madras, Chennai




For more information, contact the organizers at